Route 66 Historical Village logo

Frisco 4500 Meteor Steam Engine

The ex-Frisco railroad locomotive #4500 was built in Philadelphia, Pa. in November, 1942 by the Baldwin Locomotive Works. It was assigned to pull the passenger train “METEOR” from St. Louis, Mo. thru Tulsa to Okla. City and back on a daily basis. In 2003, the City of Tulsa published in the Tulsa World an article requesting bids on
a used piece of equipment. 
Members of the Town West Sertoma Club took on the project to restore the engine to exhibit condition. Six years later the Frisco 4500 was returned to West Tulsa to its final destination, the Route
66 Village. Check our YouTube Channel for videos of the Meteor arriving at the Village. 

 

You might catch one of the Village’s “railroad men” performing a task on the 4500 or one of the other cars, next time you visit, don’t hesitate to strike up a conversation with them. They love to share their expertise about the Village, the restoration of the train, and other exhibits including future plans for the Route 66 Village.

restored Frisco 4500 steam engine
The Train and Depot
Route-66-Historical-Village-Frisco.jpg
restored Tulsa-Sapulpa Union Murray Hill Rail Car

Tulsa-Sapulpa Union Murray Hill Car, 1929

Built by the Pullman Car Co in 1929, the car originally served the NYNH&H and the Pennsylvania Railway's "Federal Express" train. Our local Townwest Sertoma Club guided this project as members stripped the car of old paint and rust. The car will serve as a teaching tool about early day travel and business.

1917 Double-Domed  Oil Tank Car

The Oil tank car, circa 1917, was the type of used during Oklahoma's oil boom era in the early 1900s. The tanker has been hand painted and logos of the various oil companies related to Tulsa's rich history have been reproduced on the sides. The HollyFrontier Company, which helped store the Meteor for the Village, also has its logo on the tanker.

Frisco 1157 Caboose, 1938

This unique car started life as a box car in 1938, the Frisco 1157 Red Caboose became a caboose in 1952 when the railroad added the cupola. The sliding cargo doors on both sides add to the distinctiveness of this car. It has been restored back to its original working configuration. 

Architect:    Keith D. Robertson, Architect AIA, PLLC 

                    kdr@kdrobertsonarchitects.com

The Depot

The Route 66 Village is excited to see the new railroad depot rising from the ground to join our other features in August, 2021. The original Red Fork Depot in Indian Territory, operated within a mile of the new one. It served local people and many travelers just as the new depot is scheduled to serve the community. When contractors finish their work in the summer of 2021, we will be able to walk on the platform next the Meteor, listen to the hissing steam sounds and relax in the station.

Original Red Fork Depot:  Established in 1883, Red Fork, Indian Territory, became a major railhead for cattle

drivers and later an important destination for oil field workers after the discovery of the Sue Bland No.1 and subsequent Glenn Pool oil deposits.

We are a destination on Historic Route 66, 
make plans to visit us soon...

Be the first

to see our new venue: The Red Fork Depot! You are invited to join us for our First Annual Village Gala. Ticket purchase: Eventbrite